Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: First OC, Sorta

Default First OC, Sorta

I say sorta because when I was a police officer, well, being uniformed I carried in a regular duty rig but NEVER OC while off duty nor currently.

So, I'm out here in Colorado Elk hunting and with Elk and Mule deer come one other critter, Cougars. So, I'm riding up high upon mountains on my horse, rock ledges and other various ambush locations famous for mountain lions, no to mention ton's of black bears. Anyway, so I decide to carry my nice shiny Springfiled Custom Loaded .45acp Stainless Steel for personal protection. Kinda hard to get to my rifle in a rifle scabbard on the side of my horse.

Anyway, I'm back at the hotel and I'm unloading gear etc...and there are people from all over the country, Ky, PA, Tx, and yup, California. I am wearing a sweat shirt but its getting caught up on the butt of the pistol as I'm bending over, lifting etc...so I just lift it up and tuck it behind my sidearm.

One of the guys from Cali asked me if I'm from GA. I say no. I am in the Army and on leave, changing duty locations from GA to MD. We continue to chat a few minutes when a second Cali guy comes out and notices my hip and pistol. His eyes get all big, a questioning look and then OMG, he has a gun on his hip out in the open type stare. I chuckle and say
    You do realize that in Colorado, you can Open Carry a sidearm, locked and loaded, carry concealed with a license on your person, and have a loaded pistol in your vehicle without any license or permit? Both guys look at me like I'm crazy followed by "NO WAY DUDE!" I couldn't stop chuckling at the perfect "NO WAY DUDE" blurb that came out....so this launches into a conversation about carry and personal protection. Funny, none of them brought any handguns with them. Never thought about bears or cougars wanting their kill/gut pile and or how a long gun in scabbard is not exactly handy to get too in a hurry.