Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Q's about AK's

(Berks County)

Question Q's about AK's

".223 chambered AK variant. "Ivonka" is Hesse built but with parts of from Bulgaria. It takes the Polish Tantal mags, or the Bulgarian mags. Has a 74 style muzzle brake on and comes with a 20rd mag. Never had a jam or any problems out."
    I'm looking to purchase but I have no real knowledge of AK's. I heard that the welded receivers from Hesse tend to wear out a lot faster that riveted or milled receivers. Looks good from the pictures, I can't tell what trigger it has but I'm guessing the dual arm. Could it reliably take 5.56 NATO rounds even if the receiver is stamped .223? He said he's done it but could I constantly do it if I wanted? Anyone know how easy/hard it is to find mags for the .223 Ak's and how much they usually are or where to get them? I'm asking because I don't want to get ripped off and buy a POS that isn't going to last or is going to be a nightmare to find parts for. It's ok if it's a cheaper version but as long as it would be reliable. Thanks in advance!
    So ya, Thought ya, Might like to Go to the show

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Q's about AK's

What is the draw to have a .223 AK? Take an accurate cartridge and fire it out of a less accurate rifle?

You could buy a 5.45x39mm AK (Polish Tantal) and get cases of ammo for 1/3rd the price of .223 that for all intents and purposes funtion extremely similarly when comparing military ball ammo. Mags are rarer, and more expensive too.

I have no idea why they exist. Or why anyone would want one.

If you have a 5.45x39mm AK, and a 7.62x39mm AK, and an AR15, and every other variation of those rifles you could ever possibly want... and you just HAVE to HAVE one. Sure, go for it.

IMO that is the LAST AK on earth I would buy. And that includes the ones that are hand built by 8 y/o's using cave man parts in the gun market strip mall in Pakistan...

(Monroe County)