Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Berks County)

Default Slide Glide Test

Mods please feel free to move as you may, I wasn't 100% sure where this belonged.
    First my disclaimer; I am not a scientist, just a regular Joe and these test are far from scientifically performed. I am not spokesperson, salesmen, or owner of the company that produces the product I tested. I can assure you I have not been compensated in anyway for the test I performed nor have I mislead or changed the results. I do this out of my enjoyment for firearms and quest to find only the best products to ensure my firearms are around at least as long as I am.
    Again the results of the test are unadulterated and raw, I am not well versed in this area and so there are many things I could have done better, but here are the facts.
    I have been an advocate of Brian Eno's Slide Glide since I first got a sample some months ago. I found its superior lubrication properties to far exceed the standard in grease for firearms. One of the many reoccuring statements about using grease on firearms was the want for the product to have some sort of marine resistance. No not US Marine devil dog, nobody can resist their will, no I mean aquatic enviroments. Humidity, sweat, moisture, all the nasty oxidizing agents that our precious firearms have at some point come into contact with. While nothing is marine proof, some products offer at least some level of resistance and other come down right close to the latter.
    On July 31st 2009 the following took place.
    Using what I had at hand, I came up with a test to see just how much protection Slide Glide offered. I used the following items for my test.
    3 used medicine bottles, washed out with soap and hot water.
    3 teaspoons of Sea Salt.
    3 one inch long steel nails
    Regular non filtered tap water. (After thinking about it for a bit I should have measured out the water to gain more consistant results but meh I said I was not scientist.)