Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: saiga 12

Thumbs down saiga 12

Guys!

I’m new in hunting in the US. I just want to start. Originally I’m from Russia and, naturally, I first look at Russian equipment. I’ve read a lot of positives about Saiga-12. Reliability of AKM, etc. affect, of course. So, my questions: 1) Does it work well as a single multipurpose shotgun (for hunting and home defense); 2) Since it is semi-automatic, is it legal everywhere? 3) If not, what are the restricions?4) I have quite a low hunting experience but have some for animals (deer and moose) and birds. Does it work for these? Any advice is welcome very much. Of course, any other suggestions are also very much welcome. BTW, currently I’m living in TN (just in case someone can help me with the local rules).
    Thanks a lot folks.
    And, of course, any suggestions where to buy are more then welcome!

(Monroe County)

Default Re: saiga 12

Quote Originally Posted by Yuri View Post
    Guys!

I’m new in hunting in the US. I just want to start. Originally I’m from Russia and, naturally, I first look at Russian equipment. I’ve read a lot of positives about Saiga-12. Reliability of AKM, etc. affect, of course. So, my questions: 1) Does it work well as a single multipurpose shotgun (for hunting and home defense); 2) Since it is semi-automatic, is it legal everywhere? 3) If not, what are the restricions?4) I have quite a low hunting experience but have some for animals (deer and moose) and birds. Does it work for these? Any advice is welcome very much. Of course, any other suggestions are also very much welcome. BTW, currently I’m living in TN (just in case someone can help me with the local rules).
    Thanks a lot folks.
    And, of course, any suggestions where to buy are more then welcome!
    Welcome to the forum. Post your hunting related questions in the hunting sub forum, as you will get a much better response.