Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default PA resident taking a job in NY. What are my options to LEGALLY keep my firearms in PA

I am a PA resident and am taking a job in NY state. Can I legally leave my rifles, shotguns, and pistols at a friends house in PA? I was told no self storage unit as they're auctioned upon a payment default and would leave me liable if that happened. I will be becoming a NY resident at some point this year.

I was told that I can move to NY with NY compliant rifles and shotguns to include semi auto rifles that are NY compliant and owned prior to becoming a resident. I am thinking my only option is to sell my pistols and purchase again later after I have a NY Pistol permit. I don't think that I can legally leave a pistol anywhere other than those high dollar firearms storage facilities.

I was also told that I can move to NY with ammo that I already own. None of my currently owned ammo falls under NY prohibited incendiary or armor penetrating ammo.

The ATF website says I can leave an NFA item at a friends house if they can't access the safe, have a copy of my NFA paperwork, and I give them a letter granting permission to store it with them. I might unload these items to not have to deal with the headache.

Does anyone have anything to add or other ideas?

It also looks like my sword and spear are legal as long as they are displayed only within a residence.

I believe the NY Safe Act prohibits me from moving a rifle or shotgun prior to becoming a NY resident.

(Berks County)

Default Re: PA resident taking a job in NY. What are my options to LEGALLY keep my firearms i

You'd best talk to a NY lawyer on what you can take there and when. I don't know what you can leave with whom in PA.
    Gender confusion is a mental illness

(Chester County)

Default Re: PA resident taking a job in NY. What are my options to LEGALLY keep my firearms i