Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Cumberland County)

Default First REAL OC encounter...(non-LEO)

So I have been OC'ing for about a year and other than today my only 2 encounters have consisted of someone asking if I was an officer and when I said I was not they said okay and we continued our conversation and someone who made a statement about OC not to me but rather to my mother.

So needless to say absolutely no issues to this point...well................

Today I decided to go book shopping at the local Barnes and Nobles (Montgomeryville/North Wales in Montgomery Country). I was OC'ing my Springfield TRP in a blackhawk level II retention holster. I had walked around the store for about 1/2 hour or so looking at history and political books when I decided to stroll over to the magazine rack and see what gun magazines they had, turns out they had Shotgun News so I pulled up a stool and cracked it open to see what it was like before I decided to buy it. After a few minutes my ADD caught up with me and I decided to go back to the history and politics area. As I was walking over I was approached by 2 employees of the store...they made contact with me and the following conversation ensued.

Employee: Are you an officer?
    Me: No sir
    Employee: B-b-but your carrying a gun...
    Me: Yes sir, its completely legal
    Employee: That makes some people uncomfortable
    Me: Did someone say something to you?
    Employee: Several people expressed concern
    Me: Would it be okay if I concealed it as I have a license to do so?
    Employee: Yes that would be fine

So I pulled my t-shirt over the handgun, the employee helped me find the book I was looking for, I made my purchase and went on my way (OC'ing as soon as I got back to my car).

I'll have to give this incident a positive rating due to the fact that they COULD have called the police, asked me to disarm, asked me to leave etc...