Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default How do you know you're ready to OC?

I have been carrying concealed for a couple months, pretty much everywhere I go. I definitely want to OC at some point, probably not all the time but when I feel it is appropriate. My concern is whether or not I am really qualified. I have only been carrying for a short time and I have only taken a basic handgun safety lesson, no retention, or tactical training. I am comfortable carrying and well aware of my surroundings at all times. I do plan to take a tactical/retention class as soon as I can. Have most of the guys who open carry taken some type of retention training? Do you feel a substantial amount of cc experience is required before one should consider oc. I hope some of the experienced OCers on here can help me make my decision. I know it's a decision I have to make myself I just want to be as informed as possible before I do.

(Berks County)

Default Re: How do you know you're ready to OC?

Ive pretty much been wondering the same thing. Maybe some of th experienced OC'ers could put together an "OC Primer" to get the rest of us started.
    Please help my Baby Kitties and I avoid being homeless.

(Jefferson County)

I can tell you how you know you're ready.... its right after you've blown out all 18 candles on your birthday cake.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Dauphin County)

practice practice practice... then get soem more training, save up a couple hundred bucks and start looking for some training in yoru area, we have a few folks on here that teach, and if they are not in yoru area perhaps they could recommend someone..