Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Washington County)

Default Active Military concealed carry permit

I have a question about CCW. I am a resident of PA, In order to get my CCW permit i have to be 21 (which i am 18). I am currently stationed in Florida where I can get my CCW permit at 18 because i am in the active army. Will PA honor my CCW permit even though i am 18? Thank you! And does the pistol have to be in my name (gifted from father)? Thanks again!

Default Re: Active Military concealed carry permit

Stetzer,

I am also active duty military. First off, I'm not a lawyer so take what I say with a grain of salt.

First, there is no "Registration" you need to be worried about. So you don't need to worry about a pistol being in a particular persons name. However, there are very particular laws in regards to the sale of a handgun to someone under the age of 21.

Those are:

A federally licensed dealer may not sell a handgun to a person under the age of 21.

A handgun may be gifted or transferred to anyone who is your spouse, parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild as long as they are eligible without an FFL.

http://reference.pafoa.org/statutes/PA/18/II/G/61/A/6111/sale-or-transfer-of-firearms/

So, in a nutshell, as long as a family member gave you that handgun, you are good to go for owning it. There is no "registration" that you need to worry about. Pennsylvania does have a "sales database" which they misuse for registration but that only affects sales within the state and is a different story.

As for carrying and using your Florida CCW, I will defer to GunLawyer001. He actually *is* a lawyer and will know the answer.

(Northampton County)

If you have a valid license from Florida, Pennsylvania will accept it, regardless of your age.

Unfortunately, you might get shit from some uneducated cops.
    Free "He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named"

(Bradford County)

NO. PA doesn't recognize out of state permits held by residents of this state, last I checked.