Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Question Question about CCW non-PA resident permits

I'm a resident of Arizona, but I'm a current Law Student here in PA. So I'm in PA for just over 7 months of the year - but I do have a PA non-resident permit.
    So when I'm looking at state's reciprocity laws would I be able to carry concealed in any state that has reciprocity with both AZ, and PA, or Either of the two. OR am I only entitled to carry in the different state if they have reciprocity with the state that I declare residency in (which is Arizona).

Thanks any help would be wonderful,
    -Reed

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Question about CCW non-PA resident permits

Short answer - depends.

Example: Some states honor other states resident permits only... not their non-resident permits.

In your circumstance (AZ resident permit and PA non-res permit) The best place to get the answer is the interactive map located here: handgunlaw.us

Angry Re: Question about CCW non-PA resident permits

Fun Fun,

Not too many clear cut answers I'm finding regarding weapons carry.... Even if you're legally allowed to carry concealed and something like the stop and frisk law is in effect ad they find your firearm, and blatantly refuse to look at your id and permit. They toss you in jail until a bail hearing then you go back for your actual trial on felony and misdemeanor charges. You're obviously let off without prejudice once the judge sees your CCW, and has cost you nights in jail, being put into the system, and a hefty lawyers fee - then he says that if you're ever found carrying again in his city permit or no permit he's going to throw the book at you and rule on whatever sticks. Then he won't return your firearm to you instead the city is ordered to destroy it.
    Talk about abuse of Power

(Northampton County)

Quote Originally Posted by HunterReed View Post
    Fun Fun,