Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Cumberland County)

Default 1911 Thumb Safety

Bought my first 1911 a year or so ago, and have had minor issue of thumb safety engaging after every few rounds. I thought it was just because it was an older gun that I bought used, and maybe had a problem. I just picked up a new Rock Island a few months ago, and same exact thing, every few rounds the thumb safety pops up and engages. I am guessing it is just my thumb that is hitting it when shooting and forcing it up - but thought I'd throw it out there to see if anyone had any other thoughts. I have had to hold my thumb on top of the extended thumb safety I put on the pistol so it doesn't engage on me when shooting - but not a great way to grip and shoot. Thanks !

(Centre County)

Default Re: 1911 Thumb Safety

First of all, I am a mere amateur when it comes to shooting. That said, with a right handed grip, my right thumb rides on top of the thumb safety when shooting my 1911. Thats the way that feels most comfortable and offers the best shooting grip. My left hand thumb kinda rides underneath my right too.

I dont know if that helps at all, but that sounds like how you described how you had to hold the pistol to keep the safety from being bumped into place and you said it doesnt seem like a great way to hold and shoot. But thats how I do it and it works well for me.

good luck

(Allegheny County)

when shooting a 1911 you should ride the thumb safety.

your thumb should always be on top of it, except for the moment it goes under to flip it back up, and then right back on top.

Not only does riding the safety stop you from knocking it up during recoil (which is what is happening) but it also allows you to get a higher grip on the gun and thus a higher point of contol in relation to the bore axis.

(Cumberland County)