Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Explanation of Pennsylvania Gun Records

Hi All,

I'm new to Pennsylvania so I'd really appreciate your explanation of a couple things. I moved to Pennsylvania about 6 months ago and bought a handgun and a 16" rifle.

I know that Pennsylvania doesn't require firearm "registration," but I was wondering what this really means and what agencies and government bodies know that I possess firearms?

I got a Pennsylvania State Police Application/Record of Sale for my handgun - What is this for? It sounds like registration to me.

Also, I got no documentation for my rifle when I bought it from my FFL. Does that mean that no agency or government entity knows that I have the rifle? I felt a little uncomfortable not getting any sort of proof that I had purchased the rifle legally, while I got the Application/Record of Sale for my handgun.

I'm confused because I had to fill out ATF form 4473 for both the handgun and rifle. I'm assuming the ATF has records of the guns I've bought?

I'm just incredibly confused about who has what information, at both the state level and federal level, especially because Pennsylvania doesn't require "registration" of guns.

I'd really appreciate you filling a newbie in on this.

Thanks!
    Last edited by 6.8Shooter; April 4th, 2010 at 03:28 PM.

(Tioga County)

Default Re: Explanation of Pennsylvania Gun Records

The PA supreme court ruled the sales record the PSP keeps via the sales records is incomplete thus not a registry. but the leo types treat it as one.

You should have received a copy of the 4473 with the rifle. Unless the ATF or someone hits up the FFL you bought the rifle from. Nobody knows you have it except everyone that reads this forum.

Quote Originally Posted by 6.8Shooter View Post
    Hi All,