Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default carrying on the appalachian trail

Doing a backpacking trip and would like to carry while hiking the trail. Is this legal?

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: carrying on the appalachian trail

I'm not an expert, but I assume since it's owned by the NPS you are permitted to carry as long as you have an LTCF. Just be sure to stay in PA and not unknowingly walk into another state.

(Delaware County)

Quote Originally Posted by lightsdarkness View Post
    Doing a backpacking trip and would like to carry while hiking the trail. Is this legal?
    You were VERY general in your question so no one can given you a real complete answer. The issue is that the AT goes from GA to ME and of course many of the states between. It passes through national parks, state parks, national forests, state forests, state game lands, private property, small towns and large towns.

Within PA you should be good to go if you have a valid PA (or reciprocal state) LTCF. The other states all depend on your particular license/permit situation and in many cases the laws of those states. I would definitely want to carry while hiking the AT or any other trail system because there simply are no police. I also consider my handgun a key part of my survival gear should I get lost or stranded unexpectedly.

Best of luck and enjoy you trip.

(Adams County)

Forget about it coming through Maryland.

The whole thing, no, but many of the northern parts, yes. I want to go back to NH and do the complete PA section...perhaps this summer. Tagged for further.
    How pissed are you gonna be if you die before the Zombie Apocalypse comes? - - IANAL

(Dauphin County)

Here is what the NPS website ( http://www.nps.gov/appa/planyourvisit/yoursafety.htm ) says about carrying on the Trail: