Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Is my LTCF valid when I move?

I live in Illinois (which as many know doesn't allow concealed carry), and I recently got a PA LTCF, which I am able to use when I travel to Missouri. I may be moving to Missouri in the near future, as I have gotten a job offer over there. A few of my friends (gun and CCW enthusiasts) have told me that my PA permit will not be valid when I move to Missouri, and they based this on the fact that PA does not ISSUE permits to people if there state issues permits and they do not have their state's permit, but they were unable to provide any concrete evidence of the permit becoming invalid once I moved to Missouri. I contacted Sheriff Nau of Centre County, PA, and he advised me that my permit would still be valid and honored by PA since I received it while I was a resident of Illinois. I am more inclined to believe Sheriff Nau, but I figured I would ask here for anyone's input. Also, if anyone has any links to specific laws regarding this, that would be appreciated.

Here is how the PA non-resident statute reads, and it does not say anything about your permit becoming invalid if you move:

" People who are not residents of Pennsylvania may apply for and receive a Non-Resident License To Carry Firearms in Pennsylvania. The process is exactly the same as it is for residents except that non-residents must possess a similar permit in their home state per the following statute:

http://www.pafoa.org/law/carrying-fi.../non-residents

Thanks for any help
    Last edited by carryad; March 23rd, 2010 at 11:46 AM.

(Tioga County)

Default Re: Is my LTCF valid when I move?

I can't give you an exact quote for the UFA. However. your license is valid until it expires or is revoked by the issuing authority.
    USNRET '61-'81