Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default .22lr AR upper/conversion?

with rising ammo costs in .223, im trying to see what are my options in .22lr for my AR.
    Not being a expert, i was under the impression that, in order to shoot .22lr out of the AR, i would have to buy a whole new upper chambered for .22lr. (which costs a couple hundred)

However, i was told by a friend of mine, Lordiego , that all i need is actually a simple conversion kit, no new upper needed. Which i hear is far cheaper.

Outside of google info, does anyone have any specific links, or knowledge, of what i can do in order to make my .223 fire a .22lr?

Thanks for all the help.
    Drakin

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: .22lr AR upper/conversion?

I hope Danp chimes in on here. He's got a .22 conversion for his .223 m-16. So far as I understand, .22 and .223 is essentially the same diameter (give or take .003) and .22lr will fire without a problem out of a .223 upper. You might loose a bit of accuracy with the extra .003, but if you are firing .22s I doubt you are going for the tack-driver effect.

http://www.22lrconversions.com/atch-pg.htm
    ==============
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”
    ~Samuel Adams

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it."
    ~Thomas Jefferson, 1791

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by LorDiego01 View Post