Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Fayette County)

Question Out of State F2F Law?

I have been hearing conflicting answers regarding a person buying a firearm F2F out of his state of residence.

For instance, I thought as a PA resident I could go to say Ohio or West Virginia and buy a rifle in a face to face transaction.

What do you folks think?
    "One must be a fox to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten wolves” ~ Machiavelli

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Out of State F2F Law?

Interstate transfers require a FFL per Federal regulations. Long guns can go through a FFL in either state. Handguns have to go through a FFL in the buyer's state.

(Fayette County)

Quote Originally Posted by bdevil73 View Post
    Interstate transfers require a FFL per Federal regulations. Long guns can go through a FFL in either state. Handguns have to go through a FFL in the buyer's state.

But is it actually considered "interstate transfer". Since I would be IN in another state buying the firearm. Its not like I am having it shipped to my state.

I also had someone tell me that if a F2F for long guns are legal in my home state, then I could do a F2F in the other state.

Any links that I could read the law for myself?
    Thanks.
    "One must be a fox to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten wolves” ~ Machiavelli

(Beaver County)

Quote Originally Posted by Ricochet View Post
    But is it actually considered "interstate transfer". Since I would be IN in another state buying the firearm. Its not like I am having it shipped to my state.

I also had someone tell me that if a F2F for long guns are legal in my home state, then I could do a F2F in the other state.

Any links that I could read the law for myself?
    Thanks.
    Any transfer between residents of different states is considered an interstate transfer regardless of your physical location. Sorry, no links hanfy right now. I thgink there might be a sticky somewhere with the relevant links.

(Fayette County)