Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Reloading Equipment – Next Step?

I have been loading pistol rounds (9mm and 45) for about 2 years and have been having fun doing so. My current equipment is:
    Lee Challenger SSP
    Lee beam scale
    Lee ‘Prefect Powder Measure’
    Redding Dies

I would like to slowly ($200 per year) improve my equipment. What equipment upgrades would you recommend and in what sequence?
    Thanks for the input.

Default Re: Reloading Equipment – Next Step?

Get rid of that beam scale and go digital.

(Centre County)

Upgrade to a digital scale, get a case length gauge or a digital vernier caliper (can be used for a lot of things gun related), carbide dies (if your Reddings aren't), new or updated reloading manuals, or put it in a savings account to save up for a progressive reloader.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Chester County)

How about a tumbler to make your brass nice and shiney. If you are shooting a lot, you need to start saving up for a progressive press. If you want to stick with a single stage, then perhaps a manual powder measure.

a set of dial calipers are nice to measure the length of your loads.

If you're happy with your powder thrower and find it accurate enough, I would go with a lee turret press. I am very happy with mine. It bridges the affordability and output rate perfectly for me.

If you're happy with your output, I would recommend an RCBS Chargemaster.

If you're happy with output and charge consistency, I didn't hear anything for pulling bad rounds- how about a nice Hornady Collet Puller?

I just wash and dry my 45 brass. The tumbler seems unnecessary at this point.

A collet puller, new manual, and cheap digital scale will all land you under $100.

(Lebanon County)

i kinda like lee presses and their dies
    keep the ssp for depriming.

get a three hole turret....they can be found for well less than 80bucks