Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default I need some optic help please

Just wanted to ask some experienced members here for some advice on optics. I picked up my first AR-15 last month (S&W M&P15) and would like a nice optic on it. I'm new to rifles and the amount of accessories out there and the terminology has my head spinning. So what is the difference between a scope, a holographic sight, a red dot sight, etc, etc. Do I need one for long range and something for close quarters? I don't understand the abbreviations like MOA and some others I can't think of right now. I'm looking for something under $500. Eotechs look cool, but again I don't know what I should be looking for. Any tips?
    Now less Glock, more H&K :)

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: I need some optic help please

Quote Originally Posted by glockmaster View Post
    Just wanted to ask some experienced members here for some advice on optics. I picked up my first AR-15 last month (S&W M&P15) and would like a nice optic on it. I'm new to rifles and the amount of accessories out there and the terminology has my head spinning. So what is the difference between a scope, a holographic sight, a red dot sight, etc, etc. Do I need one for long range and something for close quarters? I don't understand the abbreviations like MOA and some others I can't think of right now. I'm looking for something under $500. Eotechs look cool, but again I don't know what I should be looking for. Any tips?
    Wow, that is a lot of questions... I will do my best to answer them all.