Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Mosin Nagan and other cheap rifles

I recently joined the gun club, and have spent a little bit of time on the rifle range. I've found that I greatly enjoy shooting (50-100 yard) right now. I am pretty new to rifles, and am currently shooting 50 yard iron sight with a bolt action .22 savage. I had the opportunity to fire my brother in laws 308, and 223 (just a tad more recoil than my 22 ). I was thinking that I would love to step up to a bigger "plinker", but cost is DEFINITELY a factor. Then I discovered the mosin nagan. I simply cannot believe that I can go to the local sporting goods store and find one ready to use for $120.00. Based on what I've read, these are reliable, powerful rifles with cheap ammo. Are there any other "bargain" rifles out there for range plinking? Anything else that is even close to this price range? What about less expensive mausers? I never ever considered buying an old WWII rifle before, but money definitely talks. I would love to put a scope on for 100-300 yard plinking in the future.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Mosin Nagan and other cheap rifles

if your into the old war rifles and want to shoot cheaply but are not as concerned with the actual rifle i would suggest looking up military surplus ammo, find an amount and price that fits your budget and then find the rifles that fire that ammo. or if you narrowed down your rifle search then just figure out which is cheaper to shoot BUT will give you the performance you desire.
    No use in having tons of ammo when the rifle or ammo won't be accurate enough for you ... unless you just fancy moving lead in a general direction at a very fast speed.

(Allegheny County)

Nothing else out there (other than a 22) can come close to the cost of both owning and shooting the Nagant.
    Toujours prêt

(Berks County)

Yes, there are others.

1) CZ VZ-24 Brno Czech Mauser 8 mm.