Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Beaver County)

Default New To This and have a few Questions????

Hi Everyone, First let me start off and introduce myself. My name is Tim and i live in the Beaver Falls area. I am new to the whole world of gun carrying. And am interested in getting my concealed carry permit. I have the application and have filled it out. I do have two references that i have known forever, problem is neither of them can be reached by phone during the work day as the application states. I was wondering if the beaver county sheriffs office actually calls the people as reference or if they get something mailed to them in the mail???? I was also curious about the process of getting the permit, do i get it when i hand in the application, (I heard it takes about 15 minutes to get everything done) or does it come in the mail a week or so later? I was also curious if the permit is an actual card that i carry in my wallet or if its just an electronic thing that shows up on my record? I would really appreciate it if some of you veterans of the process would let me know how it goes in the Beaver County Sherriffs department.... Thanks for your time, hope to hear from you soon!

(Beaver County)

Default Re: New To This and have a few Questions????

They never contacted my references, when I first applied or when I renewed. Take the app in with your money. You wait for them to run the PICS check. They will take your picture and give you your license on the spot. It is a plastic card similar to your drivers license. They are pretty friendly there and the process is pretty painless. When I renewed a few months ago, they had a book there that had the gun laws. They are free. Make sure ou grab one for reference. Aything you don't understand, ask here. We have a lot of knowledgeable people here. Welcome to the forum.
    Last edited by bdevil73; January 4th, 2010 at 11:41 PM. Reason: more info

(Beaver County)