Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Chester County)

Default What to do to a new AR 15

Not sure if this quite falls into gunsmithing, but I have a new Bushmaster M4A3 and it seems slightly dirty and a bit dry. I'm guessing that they test fire it and that is why it's a little dirty (the box was factory sealed), but I'm wondering what I need to do before firing as far as cleaning and oiling. Should I just run through their standard cleaning and oiling procedure, or is there anything special for the first time?

If anyone's got any info or a link to a previous discussion I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

(Northampton County)

Default Re: What to do to a new AR 15

This link should help:

http://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=35490

The site that the link jumps to is a good source of technical information on the AR platform.
    So this is how liberty dies...with thunderous applause.

Quote Originally Posted by 229Mick View Post
    Not sure if this quite falls into gunsmithing, but I have a new Bushmaster M4A3 and it seems slightly dirty and a bit dry. I'm guessing that they test fire it and that is why it's a little dirty (the box was factory sealed), but I'm wondering what I need to do before firing as far as cleaning and oiling. Should I just run through their standard cleaning and oiling procedure, or is there anything special for the first time?

If anyone's got any info or a link to a previous discussion I'd appreciate it. Thanks!
    BTW, Congratulations on your new AR. Welcome to the dark side lol. JK. let us know how it shoots.
    3%er "The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.." -G. K. Chesterton

(Allegheny County)

When I got my new upper I stripped it clean with a few good blasts of degreaser, and then lubed it with old fashioned G.I. CLP. Since then I just use CLP. No problems even though I use a .22 conversion a lot that gets it really dirty.