Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Left PA - Is My LTCF Still Valid?

I grew up in Pittsburgh and got a LTCF when I turned 21.

I have since moved to Washington State. I got a WA DL and a WA CPL (Concealed Pistol License) and I am now a Washington State resident. Unfortunately, WA CPLs are not reciprocal with PA.

I just called the Allegheny County Sheriff's office and they confirmed that my LTCFs is still good and I will be able to carry concealed when I go back to Pittsburgh for Christmas next week.

So...I looked at my LTCF and realized it expires in 2011. I asked them:

"I understand that state law permits non-residents to have a PA LTCF...when when this expires, I can renew without a problem, right?"

They said no, told me that Allegheny County does NOT issue non-residential LTCFs. They said they didn't know why and got frustrated with me when I told them they were violating state law.

Before they cut the conversation short and hung-up they told me to check into "out of state permits" in Washington...and that's it.

So...I get the impression this is pretty common after looking at this:

http://www.pafoa.org/counties?county...esidentLTCFs=1

1) How does Allegheny County continue to violate state law without any legal challenge?

2) I noticed that a few counties in the Pittsburgh area (Beaver, Mercer and Clarion) all offer non-residential permits. Does anyone have experience with this process? It's about a year and a half off - but if its a huge hassle, I'll just get a Utah permit and Allegheny County can go without my renewal money. I can only assume a Utah permit is what they meant by an "out of state permit."

Thanks!
    Last edited by Benjamin455; December 16th, 2009 at 05:01 PM.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Left PA - Is My LTCF Still Valid?

When your time comes...just go thru Centre County...they seem to be the go-to for out of state residents.

(Lawrence County)

Quote Originally Posted by mrjam2jab View Post