Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is this normal?

(Allegheny County)

Default Is this normal?

i noticed on a video from someone that i subscribe to on youtube that he was wearing a right handed holster on the left side of his body with the butt of the gun facing forward, reaching across his body when he draws! is thios normal? maybe old school? i'm new at firearms so thought i'd ask.
    colin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oO0duA1zHFc&feature=sub

(York County)

Default Re: Is this normal?

It's called "crossdraw". Not unheard of. I have a crossdraw holster.
    While many claim to support the right, precious few support the practice.

(Philadelphia County)

Its a preference thing. Also, keep in mind that many shoulder holsters are set up this way (on the left side, grip facing front).
    Just because 'perfect' is impossible does not mean we should settle for 'broken'.

(Allegheny County)

although crossdraw does have specific applications (such as carrying in a car), you will find that most people who are serious about training to use a pistol in self-defense generally frown upon it.

crossdraw is slower, telegraphs much more that you are going to draw, causes you to turn the gun toward--rather than away from--a contact distance threat if you blade your body and defend yourself with your support hand, makes retention harder, and causes you to cover all kinds of things with the muzzle you do not intend to shoot (thus forcing you to break one of the fundamental laws of firearms safety).

imho, other than in a car, crossdraw is a bad idea. but that is just my two cents.
    F*S=k

(Allegheny County)

Thanks everyone that replied, all clear now.
    colin

(Delaware County)

NORMAL is a setting on my wifes clothes washer.......... that's the only normal I know of.

George
    George,
    So many guns, so little money.

(York County)

Quote Originally Posted by thundrr1 View Post