Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Exclamation Magazine Explodes!

Whilst I've never shot an AR-15, I've got many years of experience shooting the SA-80 which I imagine is very similar.

I remember the magazines on the SA-80 were awful, you would have an FTF if;

1 - they were dirty.

2 - you dropped them and somehow you slightly bent the top of them.

3 - you filled them up to capacity.

4 - you 'banged' them into the rifle.

This next video is funny, but only because he didn't get his hand blown off.

Has anyone who has ever fired an M-16/SR-15 ever had this happen or seen this happen?

Last edited by buster2209; November 24th, 2009 at 11:14 AM.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Magazine Explodes!

This clip is older than the moon and makes the rounds half a dozen times a year.

Moral of the story: if you have to use the forward assist, don't (unless your life depends on it).
    Last edited by Willie D; November 24th, 2009 at 03:57 PM. Reason: grammar

(Delaware County)

Its an out of battery detonation. You can see he doesn't pull back the charging handle far enough. despite him hitting the forward assist twice it wasn't enough. Overpressure caused magazine failure.

At least that's my 3 cents (adjusted for inflation)

I believe that it was a squib round. You can hear the guy in the background saying that they were reloads and he didn't reload them. You first hear a click, then the rifle does not eject the round. He goes to chamber the next round and the bolt will not go into battery. He keeps hitting the forward assist to get the bolt into battery. He ejects some rounds and keeps hitting the forward assist. He finally pushes the squib round far enough down the barrel to get the bolt to go into battery.