Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default OK, What About Wolf?

I've heard all kinds of bad stuff about Wolf 5.56 non-corrosive steel casing ammo...I also heard all kinds of good stuff about it, mainly from the suppliers that sell it! So what is the good, the bad & the ugly on Wolf? Should I buy some just to hose through the AR15 for plinking? BTW, my AR is fairly new...I heard that steel casings are bad for break in periods? Any info will be appreciated!

Default Re: OK, What About Wolf?

i shoot wolf out of my bushmaster, works fine... its a little dirty, and the steel casings i've heard can scratch the finish easier than brass.... never had a misfire, and i dont find the accuracy is bad at all with them.. i've never tried wolf handgun ammo just because i've never seen it anywhere

(Westmoreland County)

Same here. I have a bushmaster ar also. I have had two rounds out of about 700 where the primars did not go off. I bought 1,000 rounds for $200 so I am not complaining and both rounds were from the same lot. I am going to be ordering some more soon. I am satisfied with it

(Somerset County)

I've been shooting Wolf out of my Bushmaster since I bought it. So far out of 1000 rounds of Wolf I've had one failure to eject (FTE) and that was because the extractor gummed up from the crud. Wolf is very dirty so you will get to spend lots of quality time with your AR cleaning it. Cheap plinking ammo.

(Westmoreland County)

Are the new rounds polymer coated instead of lacquered? I have heard that they made a lot of improvements in quality since 2004...I was just worried about damage to my baby...errr, I mean my gun!

(Philadelphia County)