Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lycoming County)

Default SA says no conversions

So today I finally picked up my Springfield Armory 1911 loaded. I was going to trade in my S&W 22a on a kimber 22 conversion upper eventually, but was reading in the manual that they say not to use any kit cause the firing pin protrudes to far back. Does anyone have this model, and if so has anyone tried to use a 22 conversion kit with it? Also what lube do you suggest I use for this pistol, I'm a rem oil fan but I put it on and it disappears.

any and all responses are much appreciated, as i am new to the 1911 world, so far I love this pistol
    We hunt to kill, kill to eat, and eat to survive...I am a member of camp wackumstackum

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: SA says no conversions

Sorry, no info on .22lr conversions for 1911's, but...

Does your SA Loaded have a parkerized finish?

If so, you might want to check out this link:
    http://xavierthoughts.blogspot.com/2...-vs-tales.html

He talks about parkerizing as a finish that "holds" lube.
    I personally have never done the old "grease & bake", but some swear by it on a parkerized gun.

On the exterior of my 1911, no matter how much I wipe it down with CLP, it definitely absorbs the stuff.

I don't see it as a bad thing, as it should be protecting it from corrosion.

(Lycoming County)

A buddy of mine has the Kimber kit and he uses it with his SA Gi 1911. And has no problem I'd says he's put 4 or 5 thousand rounds through it with no problems.

(Lycoming County)