Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (McKean County)

Default A few questions about SBR's

After years of wanting one I've decided to get myself a short barreled rifle; I'm thinking about a krinkov/ AKSU.
    Here's the question, do I send in the paperwork to the ATF once I've gotten my Krink kit and receiver?
    And once I do get the tax stamp and send it off to be built, do I have to have it sent to a class 3 dealer and pick it up there? If so, does anyone know of any class 3 dealers near McKean county?

Thanks for the help; I'm a lifelong firearms owner and shooter, but I'm a total noob when it comes to class 3 weapons.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: A few questions about SBR's

First, Welcome!

There may be some confusion between Full Auto which needs a Class 3 Dealer and SBR (short barrel rifle, under 16") which does not IF you are building it yourself. Otherwise the kit may have to sit and wait with a Class 3 dealer.

From what I understand you need to buy the receiver so that you have the serial number for the paperwork. The rest needs to be bought AFTER you receive the tax stamp or at least kept in another location (not 100% sure about if the last part is allowed). For example, I can not have the receiver and shorty upper in my house for the SBR I want to put together.

Check out:

http://www.quarterbore.com/library/p...edriflefaq.pdf

Corrections welcome. Especially when it comes to Non AR type rifles.

(Centre County)

OC.

From what I read it appears you do not plan on building the SBR. If that is the case you need to find someone to build your firearm (krink / AKSU) as you want it built. I don't know if you have already spec'd out a company or not but there are a couple that come to mind for me.

Red Jacket Firearms in Lousiania
    Ohio Rapid Fire in Ohio (duh!)
    and theres a company in AZ but I can't remember the name off the top of my head. I'll find it and post up later.