Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Angry Allegheny County Police Issue - Handgun was taken...

SEE MY FINAL REPLY ON THIS THREAD... PAGE 6

Hey all...

I have an issue and I need some legal aid. I can't pay much as I am pretty much broke, but I can pay some. I was told by LilDobe that I should post a message here... so here goes...

Here's the deal...

In Mid-June 2009, my roommate accidently discharged my Glock 19 handgun in our apartment. He caused a self-inflicted GSW to his leg. He was taken to UPMC Presby and released that day.

The problem is, for whatever reason (and they said it was common practice), the Allegheny County Police detectives took my handgun and magazines for "examination". The thing is, my handgun has yet to be returned and now they are saying I most likely will not get it back until possibly next year some time.

I am a volunteer Emergency Medical Technician who puts in almost 40 hours a week for my community, plus I am also enrolled in paramedic classes and yet, I am the bad person here apparently (at least according to the detectives).

No charges were filed but they still took my handgun and their reason for it not being returned... "The forensic lab has a 6 month to 1 year backlog."

On top of all of that, they stated that once they "complete their examination" of my weapon, they are going to STAMP NUMBERS INTO IT. Their reasoning behind that is so that agencies buying the gun know its been through the system. They are also collecting info about my handgun (such as barrel information (i guess)) and they will have my handgun's info on file. I don't think that is right.

I need help guys. I have committed NO crime. They issued NO citations. They just took my gun 4 months ago and they are saying I ---MAY--- get it back in the next 2-6 months (if I am lucky).