Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default In need of clarification...

Hello all, please forgive me. This may be long. First off, I'm fairly new to all this. I have been around guns, hunting rifles, and what have you pretty much my whole life. I bought my first handgun last year (a good lil republican who used his stimulus to buy a gun hehe) and did some research but have come up cloudy in a discussion with a friend about carrying. I need the technical definition explaining the difference between LTCF, and a lic to carry a concealed. I currently am licensed with a LTCF. Does this mean I cannot have it concealed? Also...another sidenote of our discussion is about how the firearm is carried, meaning holter vs no holster. Before any1 comes to judgement, I do own a molded holster that my gun is in ALL the time when I carry. My friend is the same way. The question is, and this is another I need specifics on, by law, does the firearm need to be in a holster while on the person? Meaning...I know not safe, but could you carry it in yur coat pocket, or in your belt without a holster. I say no. That the gun MUST be in a holster for safety reasons alone, and by law. He thinks that the concealed firearm law doesnt specify in or out of holster. This convo came up while talking about the "thugs" who 80% are most certainly not lic'ed or legal, who carry the gun in a hoodie or belt. Any info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Default Re: In need of clarification...

The answer is simple: An LTCF means exactly what it says - Firearm only!

A license to carry a concealed weapon applies to many things other than a pistol; and, would allow the holder to carry certain knives in some states.

(Bucks County)

if you have a LTCF. you can carry conceled or open. which ever you like.
    "I Don't Miss"

(Berks County)