Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Cool Loading .38 Special And 9MM with Cast Lead

Hi Guys,
    I've posted in this forum before and always got good advice. I am new to reloading, and trying to start now. Problem, I'm a retired Police Officer. I purchased both of my .38's from the Agency when I left. Current problem is .38 Special seems to be scarce and when you do find it they want a small fortune for it. We used to sell it at our Range where I did some reloading on our turret press for $5 a Box. I got a culture shock at the price.
    My solution turn to reloading, unfortunately a bad time to try that however through persistence, I came up with 7 lbs of Hodgdon HP-38 Powder, a Lee 158Gr SWC Mold, 5000 Federal Small Pistol Primers, 3,000 .38, 3,000 9MM once fired Cases and a Lee .38 Special Hand-loader (I know! a Lee Turret Press and other parts are on my Christmas Wish List). I pulled down the reloading data from the Hodgdon Site, No problem its easy to understand.
    However,
    The Lee Reloader calls for using Winchester Primers and cases? I have Federal Primers and Brass from several Manufactures. Does it really make a difference what Primers and Brass you use? This was never even considered when we were reloading at work, we used whatever Brass and Primer we had on hand. Is there something that critical about using Lee Products or are they just promoting Winchester?
    Second question I was going to cast Lead for my 9mm P38, and Glock (only after I swap out my Barrel for a Rifled one) thanks to the guys on the Board who gave me the Heads up on that one.
    Anyway Hodgdon gives the 9 reload data as a "LCN" the casting mold by Lee list the Mold as a Lead Round Nose (Same Gr. weight), are the LCN and LRN the same 9MM Bullet.
    Thanks for taking the time to keep a fellow Newbie and Voter safe.
    Later,
    Ed

Cartridge: 38 Special
    Load Type: Pistol
    Starting Loads__________________________________Maximum Loads