Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default After years away, now interested in returning to the hunt.

As a young man, I hunted frequently; deer, turkey, varmint, etc. on a regular basis. Then I moved away from the country, got into school, traveled, started a career and family, etc. For no particular reason, hunting went to the wayside. I am now very much wanting to get back into hunting, especially deer hunting and, in addition to rifle hunting, I want to bow hunt, which I've never done. My son will be getting old enough to go in a couple of years, and I'd like to be able to introduce him to the hunt.

Problem is, I haven't hunted in almost 20 years, so none of my friends are hunters and I have no knowledge of the area. Although I could probably manage, I am a little hesitant to just jump in there, get a tag, pick a WMA, and strike out on my own. I'm thinking that I might make use of a private guided hunt for the first season or two so I can beef up on technique, refresh my "game" sense, and familiarize myself with some local areas. I've already registered for a Hunter Safety Course.

So, I have two questions;

1. Does this sound like a good approach or can you suggest an alternative method?
    2. Do you know a good guide service or camp in the eastern half of the state that can retrain an old hunter and is family oriented?

Thank for the input!

J

(Monroe County)

Default Re: After years away, now interested in returning to the hunt.

Honestly your best bet is going to be to just get right back on the horse and get out there, especially for archery season. You are probably to late to get any doe permits so you are really just going to be hunting for bucks
    The first vehicles normally on the scene of a crime are ambulances and police cruisers. If you are armed you have a chance to decide who gets transported in which vehicle, if you are not armed then that decision is made for you.