Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default Need Help with my 02 chevy 2500 HD

I have an 02 chevy 2500 HD with a 6.0 gas engine. Sunday night i went out for a few drinks with some friends and everything was fine, next morning trk wont start key wont evan turn ... no i had a new key made monday from the factory key and nothing. So i am pretty sure i need to replace the ignition cylinder but i have never done one before and have never had to work on a car with airbags. IS there anybody in here that has done one or has some tips. I really cant afford to A. get it towed to the dealer and B. pay the dealer for the labor. If anyone in here can help it would be a great help

(Bradford County)

Default Re: Need Help with my 02 chevy 2500 HD

did you lock the steering wheel? by that i mean turning it to the left or right til it locks(after the vehicle is off and key is out). try inserting your key and turning the steering wheel while trying to turn the truck on

(Beaver County)

Quote Originally Posted by biddy View Post
    did you lock the steering wheel? by that i mean turning it to the left or right til it locks(after the vehicle is off and key is out). try inserting your key and turning the steering wheel while trying to turn the truck on
    Ya beat me to it. That's what I would suggest.

(Lancaster County)

Yes, I have tryed that for about 1 hour..lol I cant seem to get that damn key to turn. Now i know that the trk dosent have a locking steering wheel so at this point I think im going to be changing that lock cylinder but im a bit worried about the horror stories i have heard with airbags

(Beaver County)