Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Considering run for State Representative

Over the past year or so, I have become more and more interested in legal issues in PA. This interest coincided with my study of federal and state gun laws. If I was going to start carrying a firearm, I was going to be sure I knew every law about them.

I have always been relatively political, but have always focused on federal elections, volunteering on the campaign trail for congressmen and presidents. On most issues I find myself aligned with the Republican party. In the past year, I have started too look at state government and what can be done there.

As an economist, I believe the state tax law has to be reformed. We have one of the highest corporate tax rates in the nation. This scares away business. I would look to lower this, even a slight change would have a dramatic effect. It's even possible that a tax decrease would increase total revenues. I'm am solidly against Rendel's attempt to raise the personal income tax. In a recession, this would spell disaster. It's easy to just think that it effects workers, but the real fact is that overtime this will chase jobs out of PA. To maintain the same quality and quantity of workers, employers will have to pay them more because their workers are keeping less of their paycheck. In the last 6 years, the state government has grown 40%, while inflation in that time has only been 18%. We need to stop this trend. I realize this is a gun forum, but my point is I am fiscally conservative.