Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Quick Check of Rifle Laws

I am a NY resident with a Florida CCW permit and am in the process of getting a NYC handgun permit. I dont think either of those pertain to my question however. I have a house in PA also and I'm looking to buy a rifle. My question is am I allowed to purchase a rifle from a FFL in PA and not deal with an FFL in my home state? Just going over the laws and FAQ sections from ATF it looks like I'm ok as long as the purchase is not a handgun. Reason being, if I go through a NY FFL then I would have to purchase another license in NYC (the handgun only license is $440, I believe rifle is around $250 additional). Also, NYC permits do not allow you to take your guns outside of NY state. If I am allowed to buy the rifle in PA and keep it here, what if any, documentation would I need to purchase the rifle?? Thanks for any help guys.

Default Re: Quick Check of Rifle Laws

Edit:

My local shop will sell long guns to MD residents, so you may be ok.
    Last edited by fingers80002; August 13th, 2009 at 06:47 PM.

(Jefferson County)

As long as the rifle is legal in NYC and you have the proper license for NYC, you can buy a rifle in PA under PA and Federal laws. However, if NYC prohibits you from buying in another state - you are shit out of luck.

You may still need a NYC rifle license to purchase in PA due to the presumption that you could/would take it back to NYC. You still have to abide by your state/local laws while purchasing in another state. A FFL may not know your state or local restrictions on possession and purchases, and my not require you to provide your NYC rifle/shotgun residence-target possession license, which could cause a legal complication.

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post