Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Concealed carry permit - non resident

I am presently a non-resident who hunts every year in PA. I have been thinking about applying for a CC permit as a non-resident, but noticed on your listing that the county I hunt in, Tioga, does not issue CC permits to non-residents. I would like to carry my pistol with me during hunting season, as there are a lot of Bobcats, snakes in the area. Can anyone provide some insight on how I could obtain a CC permit, perhaps in another county? The other complication here may be that I am now a resident in the Communist State of NJ and PA may not allow this permit on that basis. Anyone know?

Thanks

Default Re: Concealed carry permit - non resident

you have to have a permit from your home state before PA will give you one

(Allegheny County)

Get a utah or florida permit you won't be able to get one from PA unless you have one from your state.
    "Personally, I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to take an ass whoopin'" -unknown

As mentioned, PA will not give a LTCF to a non-resident if that person is not licensed in their home state (see below).

Your only chance is to get a FL, UT or other state's permit/license that PA recognizes under our reciprocity provisions.

18 Pa.C.S. § 6109: Licenses

e) Issuance of license.--

(1) A license to carry a firearm shall be for the purpose of carrying a firearm concealed on or about one's person or in a vehicle and shall be issued if, after an investigation not to exceed 45 days, it appears that the applicant is an individual concerning whom no good cause exists to deny the license. A license shall not be issued to any of the following:

<snip>