Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Desire to become cop, ? on dui/life

So I am an IT Manager making $60000 a year. I am 27 years old. My job is boring, I sit in a windowless cubicle pretty much all day. This job is extrememly stressful as well. I feel like I am wasting away though. I want adventure and excitement. I have always wanted to be a cop, ever since I was a little kid.

Three years ago I got a dui in PA. I lost my license for a month and got into the ARD program in which at the end of my record was expunged.

So with my DUI can I still be a cop in PA? Anyone know?
    Am I stupid for leavinga $60k/year job for a $40k/year job?
    Thoughts? Comments? Suggestions?
    www.supleetech.com

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: Desire to become cop, ? on dui/life

Well , as far as the DUI . im not sure. If it was expunged that means its not on your record anymore. I would call your local police department and ask them,
    No going from a 60000 to a 40000 a year job, who cares as long as your happy. Im 36 and at the start of a new career. Sometimes you need a change.
    No longer posting

(Carbon County)

I dont know on the legality of things, But If i get bored with a job, I change things up, An officer of the law allways gets my respect, So you would have my blessings! I have been tossing Law enforcement/ military service around quite alot!
    Shall not be Questioned

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by pullpin View Post
    Am I stupid for leavinga $60k/year job for a $40k/year job?
    Only you can answer that. People can live on $40k a year. Can you?

Do you have a mortgage, car payment, and lifestyle based on $60k? If so, you'll probably have to give it all up and downsize your lifestyle.

Do you have 2 ex-wives and 8 kids to support? If so, what will your financial change do to them?