Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Cleaning a new glock 19, is this all I need?

Ok, just for the record, I did do a search but I've found conflicting information as to whether or not a new Glock needs to be cleaned. I plan on going to the range this weekend for the first time with my 19 and figured I would just be safe and clean it. (It's also been sitting in my house for about a month and a half). Well, I'm new to all this so I had to look up a whole bunch of info and videos to see how to properly clean a gun. A rod and brush came with the gun so I guess I'm good to go there. But, as far as the other stuff, this is what I think I need:

- Gun Solvent (Hoppe's #9 seems to be the preferred choice)
    - Gun Grease
    - Cotton Cloths

Is this it? I've also heard mention of maybe only needing to lube down the barrel with some oil (Rem Oil?) before the first shoot. What do you guys think about that? Thanks for the help!

(Montgomery County)

Cool Re: Cleaning a new glock 19, is this all I need?

For my glock 23, I bought a Kleenbore gun cleaning kit for like 25 or 30 bucks and it has everything you need to clean your present and future gun purchases. I do use the barrel brush that came with the gun. The kit includes patches, different size jags, toothbrush type cleaning brush, clp gun cleaner which is like a 3 in 1 cleaner, lubricant, etc. Also has a nice silicone cloth which is nice. I don't think you need different cleaners, but then again I am also new and could be wrong, but it works fine for me. I'm gonna get a g 19 too.

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: Cleaning a new glock 19, is this all I need?

Yes, clean and inspect your new Glock before firing it. Do not over oil it. You don't need to remove the copper-colored factory lubricant. Use oil not grease on a Glock.