Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Conversation with Franciscan Frier

I graduated from Saint Francis University which is a Franciscan University and have interacted with the Friars and priests on many occasions but this conversation I had I thought ya'll would like to hear about.

This past weekend I went to visit some of my fraternity brothers stuck on campus for football workouts and summer classes. They were having a cookout with one of our fraternities new advisers (the Franciscan Friar) and since I am one of the founding fathers of this fraternity my brothers wanted me to meet him. Well we had a nice conversation about our progress towards being re-chartered as well as plans for the upcoming year. As the conversation started to slack off one of my brothers, he had just turned 21 that day and was planning on buying a gun, asked if I was carrying, to which I replied "of course, always." This answer spurred a whole new conversation which completely took me by surprise.

The Friar, unlike so many anti's, just smiled a little, leaned back in his chair and asked "So what do you carry?" I said that I mostly carry a Glock 21 but sometimes I will carry a Glock 36. He sad that they were nice guns but he was partial to revolvers. The rest of the conversation was a combination of how gun owners were more responsible then non gun owners, his preference of 9mm over any other calibers, how much fun it is go go shooting, the different types of training that are available to civilians, and finally a nice debate on what my brother should buy as his first gun.

Needless to say I was shocked that a man of the cloth would approve of carrying and I also felt good that there was such an all around good guy that was going to be an adviser to the members of my fraternity.
    Last edited by Reaper; July 28th, 2009 at 12:01 AM.

(Adams County)

Default Re: Conversation with Franciscan Frier