Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XD-40 questions

(Westmoreland County)

Default XD-40 questions

Hey guys, I have a few questions about my XD that I can't seem to Google up answers for.

First of all, where can I find the year it was made? I read about a coating on pre-2006 models that wore too quickly and caused rust. If that's the case, I want to take the necessary steps to keep it in prime condition.

Secondly, I'm a noob and still haven't gotten to fire my gun yet So that's the groundwork for my next question. I was loadng a magazine and it seems awfully hard to load. Maybe I'm being a pussy because I don't want bullets going off in my face. Are new mags difficult to load? Is there a chance I could cause a round to fire while loading? I would prefer to avoid that, if possible.

I guess that's it for now. Any advice would be grateful regarding the questions above or otherwise. Thank you for your time.

XD-40
    14 rd mags
    "Because I'm an American." - MtnJack

(Beaver County)

Cartridges won't go off from loading them in a magazine. Yes, magazines (especially large capacity ones) can be hard to load. There are bunches of gadgets out there to ease magazine loading. I use one with my Makarov.

(Bucks County)

The trick for loading hicap mags is hard to describe without a picture, but here goes. If you're right handed: you hold the mag in the LH, with left thumb floating above the top of the mag. Right thumb on top of round to be inserted, with round lengthwise under thumb ('in line" with thumb, but under it). As round gets under feed lips, use left thumb to push down on rim of round case. Thus, right thumb applies uniform pressure along length of round and left thumb pushes down on rim.

Confused?

(Northumberland County)

XD 12 round .40 mags are VERY hard to load the last couple of rounds, almost seems like they won't go, but they will with the proper amount of force applied to the top round.