Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: SKS VS AK?

(Berks County)

Default SKS VS AK?

I am a hand gun guy looking to get into some rifles. I was just a the Reading gun show and saw lots of AK and SKS rifles for cheap. Some were still coated in cosmoline.

My question is this: For general target shooting, is one better than the other? I shot an AK on full auto in the army for familiarization, but could not spend enough time with it to form an opinion on the weapon.

Also, has anyone out there shot either of these left handed? I have a lot of experience with a M16A1s and those things always threw hot brass in my face or down my shirt when I didn't have a brass deflector installed. I don't want another rifle that does the same thing.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: SKS VS AK?

Depends on what you mean by "general target shooting"...
    If you want to blast away, go with th AK.
    If you don't need the "cool" look of a 30 rd. magazine, go with the SKS. (stripper clips allow for pretty fast reloads anyway)
    As I understand it, the SKS is slightly more accurate, but even still, only practical out to 100-150 yards.

I have a Yugo SKS and I really like the thing. I would like to get an AK, but that has to wait.
    They're both great firearms and you can't go wrong with either. The SKS is an incredible value in my opinion. Just depends on your preference and shooting style.

Oh, and that left handed condition you suffer from can be corrected with shock therapy as I understand it. I mean, really now, why would God make left handed people when firearms are designed for the "right" hand? Seek therapy... soon!
    I called to check my ZIP CODE!....DY-NO-MITE!!!

(Berks County)

Quote Originally Posted by Emptymag View Post
    Depends on what you mean by "general target shooting"...