Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Now that I have my diploma...My story about guns on campus...

Ok guys, So I just graduated from St. Josephs University yesterday, I can now tell you my story....

I got a Ruger LCP back in September '08, carried it off campus about 3 times a week I'd say (I had my LTCF before I bought the gun), but made the decision NOT to carry on campus at all. It wasn't worth it being a senior. I kept it in my car which I parked off campus. This was fine as I usually slept at my girlfriends (now ex) place where I basically had to park off campus to not get a campus ticket.

At the end of last semester (early December) we broke up and I stayed at my on campus apartment then. The problem arose that at my apartment the only easy place to park was owned by the school and behind the building. Technically I was supposed to be parking there all along, but did only like 5 times before.

For a while I would leave my LCP at a close friends house across the street but this got annoying, and I didn't feel comfortable with it (his roommate). So I just locked it in my glove box, and figured there is no way the school would find out as a fact that I had it....I was wrong, somewhat. (to be clear the school handbook doesn't say anything about weapons in cars, only in dorms/campus housing. A separate online thing called 'community standards' says something about weapons and any 'dangerous devices', but to be fair that is pretty much everything, and its pretty vague in total.)