Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Cumberland County)

Default Looking for a carry piece - opinions?

I have a beretta 96fs inox brigadier (.40) and a series 70 colt government (.45) - both big heavy guns not easily carried much less concealed. I'm looking for a smaller piece that I could carry. I won't be carrying much but would like to start since I've been shooting for years and have had my permit for over 6 years.

I've been looking at a Glock 26 because my coworker has one and I shoot it quite well. The other option, on the other side of the spectrum, is a subcompact 1911 or possibly a Springfileld EMP (somewhat cost prohibitive). I love 1911s and thougt a subcompact 1911 would fuel my 1911 love while simultaneously working as a carry piece. Also - I'm thinking that maybe the mags would be interchangeable.

Love to hear opinions on this. Also - will subcompact 1911 mags work in a full size series 70?

Thanks all for replying to my first post!

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Looking for a carry piece - opinions?

Welcome to the forum!
    The fullsize 1911 mags will work in the compact in most cases, but not the other way around since the compact mags are shorter. For a general purpose carry pistol, I've found the Glock 19/23 to be a nice combination of size and firepower. Could also check out the Glock 30 or 36 if you'd like to go with the .45acp. The G26 you mentioned is also an excellent choice. Hard to go wrong with most of them. Alot of reviews and forums I read indicate that alot of the 3-inch barrel 1911 platforms can be very tricky to get running 100% most people tend to say stick with a 4-5inch Government model. The series 70 Colt is hard to beat for a 1911 in my opinion. With the right holster/belt combo, you may be able to carry it rather easily.

(Northumberland County)