Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default OH to PA Transfer

Hi there,
    I am a resident of Ohio, and would like to sell a pistol to a resident of your fine state. Do I have to drive to a Sherrif's office to do the paperwork like two PA residents would in a transfer? I have looked all over and have not found any information related to this type of sale. Please advise!

Default Re: OH to PA Transfer

Quote Originally Posted by moodle View Post
    Hi there,
    I am a resident of Ohio, and would like to sell a pistol to a resident of your fine state. Do I have to drive to a Sherrif's office to do the paperwork like two PA residents would in a transfer? I have looked all over and have not found any information related to this type of sale. Please advise!
    All interstate transfers of firearms must go through a FFL. The only exceptions are interstate succession and bequeathed firearms.

So your best and easiest option is to take the gun to your local FFL and have him ship it to the buyer's FFL here in PA where the transfer paperwork will be filled out. Sheriff does not get involved.

Or of course, you can bring it to a PA FFL yourself
    Last edited by HiredGoon; May 6th, 2009 at 08:45 AM.

(Jefferson County)

An interstate transfer through a Sheriff isn't allowed. Sheriff's are only empowered by state law to do the intrastate required transfers.

Other than the two exceptions that Hired Goon mentioned, the interstate transfer must be through a FFL in the receiving person's home state per federal law.

(Allegheny County)

Does that include FTF long gun sales?

If I've got a friend in OH that wants to sell me a rifle, does it have to go through an FFL?

Quote Originally Posted by BigMikeM31 View Post
    Does that include FTF long gun sales?

If I've got a friend in OH that wants to sell me a rifle, does it have to go through an FFL?