Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newbie

(Luzerne County)

Default newbie

I am just starting the process of getting my wife and I handguns for personal defense and would also like to do some rifle and shotgun sport/target shooting.

Any suggestions on local hunting/shooting clubs and places to to go shooting would be appreciated. I am in Mountain Top but can drive south to Hazleton and surrounds or north to back mountain areas or scranton areas.

Since I am in the newbie "don't know nothing" stage any good sources of basic gun and ammo info you could pass on would also be appreciated.

I am a Marine Corps vet from mid 90's but only had training on the M-16 (yes I was infantry). No pistol or shotgun training so I am bascially starting from scratch.

Default Re: newbie

Semper FI, But i gotta ask how is it only the M-16 and you were infantry, (03Humpalot) lol....I was in from mid 90's til 01 and served in STA, I recieved alot of training on various weapons...

(Luzerne County)

Semper Fi,
    Was with 3rd Light Armored Recon out of 29 palms and oki. Sounds more "high speed" than it was, at least at that time. I guess I could add training with a SAW and a little 50 cal but not enough to consider that as counting.

Either way, not much was going on in the world during that time. I imagine much more training in small arms now with two wars but who knows, it seemed like the USMC was always broke.....

Was in '94-'98, we were constantly training for iraq and nk but while I was in things were "relatively" normal. Being with LAR probably didn't do as much "humping" as you, mostly rode up and down mountains in the LAV. Not that I am complaining.....

(Luzerne County)

of topic, but how do you put that little quote in your posting????

(York County)

Welcome to PAFOA, Leatherneck!