Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Concealed Carry with Non-Resident Permit...

Hey all I'm new to PAFOA, well relatively. I have used the site for firearms law clarification and it is wonderful (Tredyffrin Township PD didn't have a great idea on handgun ownership ages and open carry). But I would like to put my situation out in the open. I am 19 not 21 so I cannot apply for a carry permit in PA. However i can apply for a non-resident permit in a state that has reciprocity with PA, that state being North Dakota. Now i know that the states have this agreement, but does PA law allow me to carry with that permit although I am still under 21? I know it is 18 to own and open carry, but even if i wanted to open carry I would have to walk everywhere i needed to go. So my question is relatively simple but I cannot for the life of me find anything to clear this up. Thank you all in advance.

Josh

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Concealed Carry with Non-Resident Permit...

It would depend on what the agreement stipulated. Some agreements specify that only licensees 21 or older are recognized. Any license from any state would cover you in a vehicle regardless of your age.

The AG's site shows all of Our reciprocity agreements. Check there and see what the ND agreement says.

(Chester County)

I do see that ND has reciprocity for regular permits, however my main question is can I use the non-resident permit simply because they issue theors at 18 instead of 21, because I am not 21. I want to be sure that I can use that in PA.

Quote Originally Posted by glock40 View Post
    I do see that ND has reciprocity for regular permits, however my main question is can I use the non-resident permit simply because they issue theors at 18 instead of 21, because I am not 21. I want to be sure that I can use that in PA.
    If there is no age restriction in the agreement, then you are covered.