Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Good target ammo for first time .38S and .30-06 shooter?

I'm new to shooting. I have a .38S S&W and a Springfield .30-06. I had some trouble finding .38S ammo (no mail order where I live) but today found a store that sells Bullseye Remanufactured Ammunition (Semi Wadcutter Lead). I bought a few boxes, but now I'm wondering if I should have waited.
    1) What is "remanufactured"? (Is this the same as reloads?)
    2) Is SWC a good bullet to practice on?
    3) Does the grain of the bullet matter when target shooting with either gun?
    Thanks in advance for any help.

Default Re: Good target ammo for first time .38S and .30-06 shooter?

Remanufactured ammo is basically a "factory reload." Some is good, some not so much.

Semi-wadcutter is generally a target load. Wadcutters are pure target loads. FMJ should be reserved for target and range use. Hollowpoints are for defensive purposes, and if your gun can handle it you should use +P for defense. Try the Bullseye ammo, and post a report so the rest of us know if it's any good or not! Everybody is buying ammo as fast as it hits the shelves, so right now you just take what you can get. If you are wanting to get a little stocked up, a good idea to do it a bit at a time is to buy two boxes, shoot one. I'm finding it easier to find ammo lately, though it still involves some looking around. Don't stick to just big name stores like Walmart, Cabellas, Gander Mountain, etc. As referenced elsewhere, in another thread on this board, some of us are having better luck finding ammo at smaller gun stores.

I'm assuming that by ".38S S&W" you mean .38 Special. .38 Special (sometimes called .38 S&W Special or .38 Special S&W) is NOT the same thing as .38 S&W.

Congrats on your new guns, and welcome to the sport!!! Seek some training if you haven't already, and have fun