Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Erie County)

Default AR15: Bullet Over Bolt

Note: This is not a special effect

Never had this happen till about three weeks ago at a course. Took a screw driver and a hammer to get it fixed. Not sure if it was the mud, rain or over heating from 200 rounds in about 3 minutes in semi.

I also exacerbated the problem by tap rolling and racking, since it only jammed it more

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: AR15: Bullet Over Bolt

Working as an instructor I've seen this quite a few times. In most but not all cases its due to crappy magazines. The feed lips start to wear and it allows the round to pop loose in the chamber to early as the bolt is still moving back and ejecting the last round.

The way I learned was SPORTS. Slap the mag. Pull the charging handle to the rear. Observe the chamber. Release the handle. Tap the forward assist and then squeeze the trigger.

The key is the Observe part. Thats the only way a shooter is going to be able to catch this. If you do see it drop the mag lock the bolt to the rear and push the charging handle closed. Then start digging with anything to get the round out.

In most cases I've seen the shooter makes it worse because they keep holding the bolt open with the charging handle which traps the round between it and the gas key. It also makes it impossible to take the gun apart because the bolt will not fully close to allow the upper to be removed.
    "Remember the first rule of gunfighting ... have a gun." Jeff Cooper

(Luzerne County)

I'll second a problem with the mag.

(Luzerne County)

As mentioned above, this type of malfunction is usually mag related. Either a double feed or the mag releases the cartridge too early.

However, ...

WTF is all that gook in your action? Please tell me that is not GREASE?

The gun was designed to be lubed with CLP/oil.