Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Can Anyone Help Me?

I recently lost my step-dad who was a retired marine. I was just handed down his pistol, a Colt 45 1911 serial # 319xxx. My Mom says that she thinks it was his in Viet Nam. Is there any way possble, to find out any history on this pistol? Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

(York County)

Default Re: Can Anyone Help Me?

I'm no expert but I am a Marine so hopefully this will be helpful. I think you'll have a hard time tracing a particular gun because the armory would take pieces off broken ones and put on other ones so your slide might be off another one. Either way that is something I would be very proud to own.

Semper Fi,
    Brian

Should say US property on it, usually on the right side.

I'd keep and cherish it, like I do my Grandfathers guns I have
    Honesta Mors Turpi Vita Potior ~ 3%

(Monroe County)

serial numbers says it was made between May 1918 and Oct. 1918 and atleast the frame is a true 1911.

I would need better pics of several parts to further date it but it appears to be a typical armory rebuild and rebuild and rebuild.

Hard to tell but safety appears to be 1911 generation 1 and the slide release appears to be 1911A1

No matter what, as others have said. Charish it and at minimum shoot it once a year, every year on your fathers date of passing to comemerate his life and what he gave to his country.

Rich W.

(Erie County)

Quote Originally Posted by Warners Surplus View Post
    serial numbers says it was made between May 1918 and Oct. 1918 and atleast the frame is a true 1911.

I would need better pics of several parts to further date it but it appears to be a typical armory rebuild and rebuild and rebuild.

Hard to tell but safety appears to be 1911 generation 1 and the slide release appears to be 1911A1