Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Question carry in allegheny national forest

sorry if this has been answered before I am new to this forum. I am a photographer and walk miles and miles all summer in the Allegheny national forest up in forest county pa. I have had a few close calls with wildlife ( 2 bears, fox, lots of snakes, and crazy deer) and would like to carry my pistol, just as a precautionary measure. First off I have a currant LTCF and would use it to frighten before hitting. Reading the laws and they are very confusing can anyone summarize a little bit for me. I am out in the forest both weekdays and week-ends including Sundays from before dawn to late nights. Would I be in trouble carrying under those circumstances?

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: carry in allegheny national forest

At the moment: No, you can not.

Before Bush left office the Department of the Interior made a regulation change allowing for concealed carry in National Parks.

However as of a few days ago that rule change has been placed on hold pending a court case.

NRA-ILA: Concealed Carry in National Parks Suspended

Its a National Forest not a park... I have hunted there before... so I dont see why you cant carry?

"Additionally some firearm and weaponry laws apply which are as follows:

To carry a concealed weapon, you must have a protection weapon permit from your county sheriff in PA".

http://www.outdoor.com/places/nation...tional-forest/
    Last edited by Bug44; March 21st, 2009 at 12:54 AM.
    ΑΣΦ

(Allegheny County)

you absolutely CAN carry in allegheny national forest.

you have always been able to and still can.

unlike national parks, national forests have always followed the laws of the state in which they are located. so PA law applies...and there is no PA law saying you canno carry in ANF.

the DOI rule only effects national parks, not national forests.
    F*S=k

(Allegheny County)