Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Blair County)

Default Newbie scope question help please

Im looking to get an ar-15 and a cheap acog for on it. I've found one that seems to be ok but im concerned about distance capabilities. It is a 3-9x42 scope. Considering buying it but would like to see what a maximum distance would be for something like that. Whatever I get, i'd like to be able to hit 600 yards with. Basically, is a scope of that magnification able to see detail at that distance? Im new to this so please dont bash too hard :P

Thanks for any input you guys may have.

Im sure the gun can do it, really just concerned about the scope. Here's a link to it just if your wondering
    http://www.amazon.com/NcSTAR%C2%AE-9...6233236&sr=1-9

OR

http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/ItemD...px?sku=SCP-119 ( kinda like this one better, almost exact same thing? )
    Last edited by Rustedwho; March 5th, 2009 at 02:19 AM.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Newbie scope question help please

First, neither of the scopes you linked to is an ACOG... an ACOG (Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight) is made by Trijicon (optics by HAKKO of Japan) and is a VERY high quality, and expensive scope.

comparing either of the 2 models you quoted to a real ACOG is like comparing a Yugo to a Cadillac.

the optical clarity of an ACOG is pretty unsurpassed...as is the toughness.

now, that being said.... frankly, i wouldn't get either of the scopes seen there for any serious work... plinking and playing around, sure, but if i was looking for something quality and long lasting, no way.... i'm pretty sure a very light hit like your gun falling over, would seriously damage or degrade those optics (having owned junk like that in the past, i know)

also, a 4x and a 3-9x variable have different roles overall, as do red dot type unmagnified.