Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Case re-use

(Allegheny County)

Default Case re-use

Just out of curiosity ... how many times can you reload a brass case? If it's kind of caliber specific, how about these:

9mm
    40 S&W

I'm really starting to consider getting into reloading ... just trying to learn as much as I can right now.
    Quote Originally Posted by GunLawyer001 View Post
    If the police could confiscate all of your guns and ammo using just one van, then you didn't own enough guns or ammo.
    WTB - NDS3 or NDS1 receiver FTF

Default Re: Case re-use

How hot do you want to reload it. I've got .38 spl I've been loading as 148gr BBWC for 30 years, I stopped counting the number of times I've loaded them. I clean them and check them for splits, cracks and bad primer pockets. If it looks good I use it. If you want to load a hot jacketed round you need to think about using it more than 5 times. .308, .270, .243 and .223 I don't use more than 4 or 5 times and then only if they look safe. I've had new, factory loaded brass look bad after one shot. Always inspect your brass and if anything looks bad, get rid of it. Be safe.

(Lancaster County)

Depends!

Generally;

Pistol will reload more times than rifle.

In pistol, jacketed more than lead due to less case mouth flare needed.

In rifle, SS and bolt more than semi-auto, especially if you only neck size.

ALWAYS;

Light loads more than MAX loads.

Welcome to the club.

(Delaware County)

if you load the rounds with light loads, you can probably get 10+ uses out of the brass...it'll be worth the money to get into reloading once you pay off what you spent in terms of the cost of equipment.

just ask galactic. I know he paid a good bit for his Dillon and supplies that'll take him a while to pay off, but now he's got his equipment he can start shooting for cheaper.

right now, I think it's costing me roughly $12/100 rds of 9mm.

it's like $18-22 for 100rds in the store...